.

Letter: Vote Yes on Prop. 30, Prop. 38

Mary Ann Garvey, treasurer of the University High School, writes a letter to the editor in support of the two education ballot initiatives.

Help our schools on Nov. 6 by voting yes on both Propositions 30 and 38!  California schools have the largest class sizes in the nation, they rank 50th out of the 50 states.  California schools also rank 47th nationally in per pupil spending. California voters have the opportunity to do something about this by voting yes on 30 and 38.

Voting for both 30 and 38 increases the likelihood that one of the initiatives will pass. A divided vote will make it more difficult to achieve the simple majority needed. Should both pass, the one with the largest majority will become law.  As Californians, we all need to contribute to improving our schools because we will all share in the benefits better schools will bring to our state’s economy and quality of life.

Proposition 30 will provide $6 billion a year in additional revenues for the first 4 years (2013 – 2016) with a ¼ cent increase in sales tax and a higher state income tax for earners over $250,000. The amount for the remaining 3 years (2017 – 2019) will be less since the revenues will be based only on the state income tax increase.

Proposition 38 will provide $10 billion a year in additional revenues for 12 years (2013 - 2024) with a progressive state income tax increase.  (You can find out what your additional tax obligation after all deductions will be at www.moneyforlocalschools.org/taxcalculator.) These funds will be in addition to the Proposition 98 guaranteed funding for schools. In the first 4 years of Proposition 38, 30% of the $10 billion raised will be used to pay off state debt, thereby freeing up funds in the state budget for other expenditures; 60% will go directly to K-12 schools and 10% will used for Early Care and Education for preschoolers. For the remaining 8 years Proposition 38 is in effect, 85% will go to schools and 15% for Early Care and Education. (You can find out how much your school(s) will receive during these 12 years at www.moneyforlocalschools.org/restore.)

Join me in voting yes on 30 and 38 to ensure that at least one of these propositions passes. California schools need more funding. That’s a fact! It is up to us voters to make sure our schools receive it.

Mary Ann Garvey       
Treasurer
University High School PTSA

A .pdf is attached showing a projected three-year sample of Prop. 38 funding for Brentwood area schools based on enrollment.
                                                                                                                                                                                    

Rob October 31, 2012 at 05:35 PM
spoken like someone who has no idea how budget cuts effect education
William Riley October 31, 2012 at 10:45 PM
SAVE OUR CHILDREN FROM THE TEACHERS UNION! VOTE “YES on 32” and “NO on 30” The “California Teachers Association” they could care less about the children. Don’t be ignorant; don’t be fooled by their political ads. Here are just a few things you should read before you believe them when they say “it’s about the children” http://www.sacbee.com/2012/08/30/4770521/teacher-evaluations.html http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10000872396390444443504577601664135014368.html http://www.publicsectorinc.com/forum/2012/08/one-win-one-loss-as-californias-legislative-session-closes.html http://unionwatch.org/how-government-unions-intimidate-corporations/ http://spectator.org/archives/2012/08/29/a-tale-of-two-jerrys http://airmodal.com/2012/09/01/chutzpah-on-steroids/ http://www.city-journal.org/2012/cjc0716ls.html http://www.latimes.com/news/opinion/opinion-la/la-ol-sand-prop32-blowback-20120824,0,2890404.story http://articles.latimes.com/2012/aug/18/local/la-me-cta-20120819 http://www.city-journal.org/2012/22_2_california-teachers-association.html http://www.joannejacobs.com/2012/08/teachers-unions-go-on-the-defensive/ http://www.wcvarones.com/2012/08/guest-post-california-teachers-union.html
Vote NO on 30 & 38 and Yes on 32 November 01, 2012 at 09:28 AM
Prop 30 is throwing good money after bad. What was Brown smoking when he came up with this one. Vote NO on 30
rsergant November 01, 2012 at 11:04 AM
There are concerns that some people may sit out this election because we don't have much competition for President or Senator. But we have 2 very critical propositions that could effect California forever. Both President Clinton and League of Women Voters have come out strongly for Proposition 30 and strongly against Proposition 32. It is important that everyone vote and read the facts about these two propositions. Proposition 30 will bring badly needed money into our schools at all levels. Without the money, our children will have less days of schools, larger class size and less support systems. There is a shadowy group from Arizona that noone knows who they are that have dropped 11 million to oppose Prop 30. Arizona shadowy group should not determine California's fate. Calilfornia 32 is primarily being funded by Charles Munger, multibillionaire who inherited his money from his father. It is written so that all of the oil companies, large corporations and others would be exempt but it would severly impact union organizing to have an effective voice. Either we truly limit everyone or we don't just limit one group in order to control our state. Please read the facts, vote and share your decision with others so we can truly be effective as voters. California future is in your hands and the hands of everyone you know.
rsergant November 01, 2012 at 11:06 AM
How Proposition 30 Impacts CCUSD (info from the CCUSD news blast) The CCUSD Board of Education has passed a resolution supporting the passage of Proposition 30, "The Schools and Local Safety Protection Act of 2012." It is important to note that the failure of Proposition 30 would result in a reduction of an estimated $441 per student statewide. What would that mean to CCUSD? This would equate to a funding reduction to our Culver City Unified School District of $2,910,124 in the current school year (2012-2013), with projected reductions of $2,903,763 in 2013-2014, and $2,904,465 in 2014-2015. "We encourage all Culver City voters to review the information and the impacts of all the propositions and, especially, Proposition 30 before they head to the polls on November 6," said Superintendent Dave LaRose. Did you know ... * That the current California state budget assumes the successful passage of Proposition 30? * That California's per student spending has already been cut by $1,105 per student since 2008? * That Proposition 30 prohibits revenues from initiative from being used for administrative costs? * That Proposition 30 would generate $6 billion in 2012-13 through 2016-17; plus smaller amounts in 2017-18, and 2018-19? * That Proposition 30 would be funded by a ¼ cent sales tax increase for 4 years, and up to a 3% increase in personal income tax for high-income earners (>$250,000) for 7 years?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »